North East Derbyshire Online
You are here: Home » About North East Derbyshire

About North East Derbyshire District Council



The District of North East Derbyshire lies on the edge of the Peak District National Park, where the foothills of the Pennines meet the Midland plain.  Covering 100 square miles, and with some of the most beautiful scenery in the Country, the District is home for almost 100,000 people and is a popular visiting place for ramblers and tourists. 


Our services cover both town and rural areas, with the biggest population centres being;





Clay Cross;

North Wingfield;





In North East Derbyshire local services are mainly shared between ourselves and Derbyshire County Council. However, some of the more local services are provided by your local town or parish council.


Derbyshire County Council provides the following services:



North East Derbyshire District Council provides the following services:



The services provided by town and parish councils vary from parish to parish but may include services such as local community centres and village halls, allotments, markets etc.

Still not sure?


Our A-Z (links at the top of each web page) is provided jointly with Derbyshire County Council and the Peak District National Park, so whatever you are looking for, you should be able to find it there.

If you have any enquires please use the contact details below to contact us by telephone or online.

Contact Details

  • Connect NE Customer Services
  • Saltergate, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, S40 1LF
  • Location Council House
  • Telephone 01246 231111