The main menu is currently hidden off screen.

Clay Cross Town Board News

The Clay Cross Town Board has been formed by the Council to develop a plan for the Government’s Town Fund allocation to Clay Cross.

The Government announced in September 2019 that 101 towns had been invited to develop proposals for a multi-million pound Town Deal, and Clay Cross had been included in the list. In November 2019, the Government released the Towns Fund Prospectus, which set out detailed instructions for the 101 towns. View the prospectus online.

The Clay Cross Town Board will serve as an advisory function and will be the vehicle through which the vision and strategy for the Town will be defined. The board will produce a Town Investment Plan, which will inform the Town Deal proposals and include the amount of investment to be secured through the Towns Fund. The role of the Town Board is to:

  • Develop and agree an evidence-based Town Investment Plan
  • Develop a clear programme of interventions
  • Co-ordinate resources and influence stakeholders


Friday 24 January 2020

Friday 28 February 2020

Monday 20 April 2020

Friday 15 May 2020

Friday 5 June 2020

More information is available on the website.

Please contact Damon Stanton (e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. phone: 01246 217011) if you have any questions or requests about the Town Board.

The following people have been invited to sit on the Clay Cross Town Board:

  • Councillor M E Thacker MBE JP (Leader of North East Derbyshire District Council)
  • Lee Rowley MP (Member of Parliament for North East Derbyshire)
  • Councillor J Kenyon (Councillor for North East Derbyshire District Council and Portfolio Holder for Business Strategy, Commerce & Assets)
  • Councillor G Morley (Councillor for North East Derbyshire District Council and Chair of Clay Cross Parish Council)
  • Councillor T King (Councillor for Derbyshire County Council and Cabinet Member for Economic Development & Regeneration)
  • Councillor Nigel Barker (Councillor for North East Derbyshire District Council)
  • Janine Foxhall (General Manager of Chesterfield and North East Derbyshire for Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Gary Golden (Technical Engineering Manager for Worcester Bosch)
  • Tom Goshawk (Head of Capital Programmes for the D2N2 LEP)
  • Andrew King (Treasurer for Clay Cross Town Centre Group)
  • Warren Manning (Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the College of Engineering and Technology for Derby University)
  • Graham Marshall (Director for Prosocial Place)
  • Julie Richards (Chief Executive Officer for Chesterfield College Group)
  • Angela Stansfield (Employer and Partnership Manager – North of District for Job Centre Plus)
  • Jane Tricker (Homes and Communities Agency representative with John Mather)
  • Tim Allen (Development Advice Team Leader North/Midlands Region for Historic England)
  • Liam Rooney (Head of Development & Facilities for Derbyshire County Football Association)
  • Steve Perez (Chairman of Global Brands)
  • Andy James (Sport England)
  • Peter Tooher (Executive Director of Nexus Planning)